A Table Is For Dancing On

My Life In Music

Songs I have heard today

on May 29, 2012

The Cure Friday I’m in Love (1992)

I was walking to the dentist this morning and I knew that I needed to listen to one of my ‘happy songs’ on my i-pod. The Cure, Friday I’m in Love is one of my happy songs and it didn’t let me down today. From the initial iconic guitar riff that introduces the song, it just lifted my mood. I could feel those happy, excited butterflies in my stomach and a massive smile took over my face. I wanted to sing/shout the lyrics out loud whilst dancing, which I would have done had I been at home and not out on the streets (I don’t think anyone would have appreciated that!).

It is the music itself, as oppose to the lyrics, that makes this a happy song for me. I also think that the video adds to this perception of the song as it silly and childlike from the beginning, including clowns and a rocking horse and takes on a theatrical element. The song also reminds me of my indie clubbing days where I would dance and sing like crazy to this song! It is my memories that make this song for me.

Editors – Smokers Outside the Hospital Doors (2007). Taken form the album ‘An End Has a Start’

I’m sitting on the bus daydreaming, but as soon as I hear the initial drum beat of ‘dum dum dum dum dum dum’, I immediately recognise the song. This song holds personal connotations for me because I have to literally walk past smokers outside the hospital doors everyday and the song always comes to mind. It was only when I started working at the hospitals that this song held meaning for me and I could really identify with the lyrics. I could understand why ‘the saddest thing I’ve ever seen is smokers outside the hospital doors’, as they’re there for one reason; they themselves, or their loved ones, are sick or dying and this is their way of coping with the situation.

Although the music and melody are captivating and has incredible energy, I cannot help but be engrossed and totally involved with the lyrics of this song and they do move me emotionally. With lyrics like ‘say goodbye to everyone you have ever known, you are not going to see them ever again’, how can you not stop and pay attention? Beautiful song.

Pulp – Common People (1995)

This is one of my original happy songs! It just came on XFM and I got really excited. I was first introduced to this song in an indie club in Manchester called 5th Avenue, and it helped influence my indie taste in music today. Such a feel good song that I have to sing/shout/dance to. I adore it!

Leave a Reply

